Recognition/Non-recognition in International Law

The mandate of the Committee covers different aspects of recognition in international law, with special focus on recognition of states and governments. First preliminary report presented at the Sofia Conference 2012 dealt with basic notions concerning recognition, in particular with a distinction between its declaratory and constitutive nature. Current work (including two meetings of the Committee in May during the Regional Conference in Taipei and then in June in Warsaw) concentrates upon issues of non-recognition, in particular on obligation not to recognize unlawful situations, collective non-recognition, and a position of unrecognized entities in international law. The final report of the Committee should be presented at the 2016 ILA Conference.

Return to Committees list

  • Committee: Recognition/Non-recognition in International Law
  • Committee Type: Current
  • Committee Start Date: May 2009
  • Contact: Professor Wladyslaw Czaplinski
  • Address:
    Institute of Law Studies
    Polish Academy of Sciences
    ul Nowy Swiat 72 (Palac Staszica)
    PL 00-330
  • Fax: +48 22 826 7853
  • Email:

Committee Officers:

  • Professor Wladyslaw Czaplinski, Chair
  • Professor Aziz Tuffi Saliba, Co-Rapporteur
  • Professor Christopher Borgen, Co-Rapporteur

Committee Events

No event at the moment

View all Events

Committee News

No news at the moment

View all News

Committee Documents