Space Law

In accordance with its new terms of reference the C'tee submitted its First Report on Dispute settlement, suborbital flights, use of satellite data (recent devs) and space debris in Washington at the 76th Conference of the ILA (April 2014). During this views were exchanged with the newly set up ILA C'tee on Sea Level Rise with which there was much common ground regarding the use of space technologies in the different areas of international law. Following usual practice, Part 1 of the Report -addressing dispute settlement, the use of satellite data in recent applications and the legal sides of space debris removal- was in charge of the C'tee Chair and Part 2 -on the legal aspects of suborbital flights- was addressed by the Rapporteur. The Washington session was well attended and included reps of the PCA and the US delegation to UN COPUOS. The C'tee will carry forward its work on the above topics for the advancement of concrete proposals to the 77th ILA Conference (Jo'burg 2016)

Return to Committees list

  • Committee: Space Law
  • Committee Type: Current
  • Contact: Professor Maureen Williams
  • Address:
    Professor of Public International Law
    University of Buenos Aires
    Migueletes 923
    Buenos Aires
  • Fax: + 54 11 4772 3662
  • Email:

Committee Officers:

  • Professor Maureen Williams, Chair
  • Professor Stephan Hobe, Rapporteur

Committee Events

No event at the moment

View all Events

Committee News

  • Space Law - Academic Dinners

    These academic dinners, held in the summer of 2014, included fascinating discussions on recent developments in the field. In the photograph Professor Bin Cheng, Dr Guoyu Wang (a newly-elected ILA Space Law Committee member) and the Chair of the Space Law Committee, Professor Maureen Williams. These dinners are expected to continue in the spring/summer of 2015.
  • ILA Committee on Space Law, Washington DC April 2014

    A flash during the Working Session of the Space Law Committee, Seventy-Sixth ILA Conference, Washington, DC, 8 April 2014
  • Professor Vladimir Kopal

    Professor Maureen Williams, chair of the ILA Space Law Committee, announces with great sorrow the passing of Professor Vladimir Kopal on 27 January 2014 in Prague. He was a longstanding and distinguished member of the ILA and its Space Law Committee to which, with the authority of his experience, he contributed over the years. He was 'special rapporteur' on the 'United Nations Registration Convention' at ILA London Conference in 2000 and attended many of our Biennial Conferences accompanied by his wife Vlasta. Their kindness and simplicity greatly endeared them to us all.
  • IISL Press Release October 2013

    IISL Press Release October 2013
View all News

Committee Documents